Recovery Week and Plans For The “Off-Season”

{I’m currently working on the race report for the Richmond Half, it will be up by they end of the week–what an amazing race it was!}

Taking the words of advice from the Nov/Dec issue of Women’s Running, I’m taking a few days off from running for recovery.  The article basically says divide the number of miles in the race by 2, and that is the number of days one should take off from running.  So far so good, but I am missing the pavement already…

From now until late February I only have 2 races planned–the Blue Talon Bistro Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving, and the Reindeer Dash For Cash 10-miler on December 2.  That means it’s kind of like an “off-season” for running for me.  Now, this doesn’t mean I won’t be running at all, in fact, I plan on building a solid base for next year’s big running plans–just means a long stretch without races.  I plan to stick to the 3-days-per-week running routine (Monday (3 miles), Wednesday (6 miles), Saturday (LR)…but I also really want to add some cross training so….

Tomorrow I’m {re}starting the New Rules of Weightlifting For Women to build a solid strength training routine.   I attempted this before but got discouraged when I couldn’t do the plan 3 days a week as recommended, but this time I’m planning for 2 days of lifting per week, which per the book is perfectly fine.   I really feel this is the key piece to finally losing the last 10-ish pounds and becoming a faster runner.

After a weekend of eating pretty crappy (but deliciously) it’s time to get back into healthy eating mode.  Last night, T and I prepped lunch and dinner so we have healthy options for the week:

1) Turkey Taco Salad–kinda just threw together some ingredients–recipe follows:

1 pound of ground turkey

2 cans of kidney beans, drained and rinsed

1 onion, chopped

chili powder, cumin, marjoram, and garlic powder—honestly I didn’t measure, I just put in a handful of chili powder, and maybe a tablespoon of each of the other spices.

Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil over medium high heat, add onions and cook until soft.  Add the ground turkey and spices–cook until turkey is cooked through.  Then add the beans, stir until combined and heated through.

I plan on putting this over salad, but you can mix it with rice, quinoa, or just eat it plain.

2) Slow Cooker Black Bean and Zucchini Chili–this is a recipe from Real Simple, we substituted ground turkey for the beef.

Today’s lunch! Yum!

Well tomorrow starts strength training, time to relax and eat some turkey taco salad…

 

Leave a Reply

