NROLFW Day 1

I was so happy for the weekend to get here, but it has been a busy one!

Totally full fridge….guess what we did this weekend?

With Thanksgiving this week T and I did a lot of grocery shopping, and I did some prepwork in the kitchen–baking bread for the stuffing and preparing Parker house rolls for dinner on Thursday.  I also finished my Christmas shopping–no black Friday madness for this gal.

Since we took the past week off from running, Saturday was the day to get back into it.  I must admit, as I did around mile 2 of the run, I should’ve done a nice and easy 2-3 miles on Wednesday just to shake out my legs–lesson learned for next time!  Let me tell ya–LEAD LEGS!  Holy hell it was a tough 3 miles, but it felt good to be out running again.

My bible for the next almost year…well in addition to Runner’s World

After we ran, we hit the gym for some lifting.  I completed workout A1 of phase 1 of the New Rules of Lifting For Women and it felt so good.  I actually challenged myself this time with heavier weights and proper form.  It was also nice to have T there to spot me when I did the squat with the barbell–something I haven’t done since high school gym class.  It was so much more effective than the squats I  would do holding dumb-bells.

Here’s what I did:

Warmup–cycling 10 minutes

Squat–2 sets, 15 reps– set 1 Body weight (BW)+ bar, set 2 10lbs +bar

Push ups–2 sets, 15 reps—BW –on knees–both sets

Seated row–2 sets, 15 reps–set 1 30lbs, set 2 45 lbs

Step ups–2 sets, 15 reps–set 1 20 lbs, set 2 30 lbs

Prone Jackknife (on ball)–2 sets, 8 reps–both sets I did BW but 12 reps each set

I’ll admit I’m a little sore today, but you know, that “good” sore.  I look forward to the following 6 weeks of phase and the results that will come of it!

I was going back and forth about whether or not I wanted to post day 1 pictures…I had a blurb here about how I just wasn’t ready and that I have a lot of work to do on my midsection, but I had a change of heart and decided to just do it…

NROLFW START, November 2012

Leave a Reply

