Happy Thanksgiving!

Yesterday at 3pm marked the start of what has so far been a great Thanksgiving holiday!  It’s a lovely day here in Yorktown, nice, crisp autumn air and I’m sitting on the patio drinking a Hibernator (yum) and chillin’ with the dogs while T is working on smoking the turkey.

 

T and I had a coffee date before work then he picked me up after work to go lift at the gym–due to just complete exhaustion from 2 hellishly busy days at work we came home and crashed on Tuesday evening and lifted yesterday.  I was a bit wary about lifting the day before a race, but I had to get the first lifting workout of the week.

Afterward, T made the turkey brine, and while that was cooling we took the dogs to City Center (in Newport News) for a walk and to grab dinner from Aromas.  Turns out, Aromas closed early for the holiday, so we got some very yummy burgers from Red Star Tavern.  The service sucked, but the food was good.

This morning we woke up at 5 and we were on the road by 6:30 to get to Williamsburg for the Blue Talon Bistro 5k.  It was so fun!  I decided earlier I wasn’t going for any specific time and just to treat this as a fun run–no competing with myself for once–and it made the race so enjoyable.  There were corrals set up, so we started in the 8-9 min/mile corral, but we also started next to a grandpa wearing khakis, so we knew it was going to be a slow start.  The race took us through through Colonial Williamsburg and part of the William and Mary campus.  Such a pretty course–it also happens to be the route that T and I ran on our first date 🙂  There were some nice hills which thinned out the crowd significantly–I almost wish I ran with my Garmin so I could see mile splits but, again, I wasn’t running for time.  I missed the mile marker for mile one so it was a treat when we passed mile two!  It’s been awhile since I’ve run a 5k and it was a nice change of (faster) pace–I’ll definitely have to do a few in 2013!  We picked up the pace for the final mile and finished in 25:09 (T was one second ahead of me).  I came in 10th in my age group, and was the 88th female out of 1232!  The finish line area greeted us with yummy hot illy coffee and a huge croissant.  We’ll definitely be doing this race every Thanksgiving until we move out of the area.

We got home and had a huge breakfast–fried eggs, granny smith apple and chicken sausage, and orange juice….and just a little bit of ketchup 😉  Oh it was so good!

The rest of the day will be spent cooking, eating, drinking, and watching Ken Burns National Parks 🙂  Have a great Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

