Always Be Pure, Simple, and Honest

Always be pure, simple, and honest. 

That was the little note on my tea bag tag this morning.  It reminded me of the lack of simplicity in my life over the past few weeks.  From 9 hour days at work to non-stop weekends and a run streak that is sadly ending tonight (more on that below) I just can’t seem to catch up on anything…hence no blog post in a week…so time to play catch up over the next few posts.

IMG_0346[1]

So first thing first:  the end of the RW Run Streak.  T and I ran for 14 days in a row ranging anywhere from 1 mile to 10 miles.   Previously, my longest run streak was maybe 3 days in a row.  Last night during our what was supposed to be 6-miles but only ended up doing 3 miles, I started having a little right IT band tenderness around mile 2.  I came to the sad conclusion of ending the run streak by the end of mile 3.  My first full year of running (2011) I suffered from iliotibial band syndrome (self-diagnosed, of course) after putting on too many miles too soon–aka not following a beginners running plan such as Couch to 5k.  It took about 9 months of foam rolling and lots of rest after runs to be able to run pain-free.  I went through it again after the Shamrock Half this year.  I don’t want to go into 2013 (the year of the marathon) with this kind of injury, so after 14 days of running, I called it quits on the streak 😦  T agreed, so back to running just 3-4 days per week.  It was also draining.  There isn’t really a safe place to run near our apartment at night (no sidewalks, very little median, lots of crazy drivers) so we would have to drive about 5-10 minutes to just run 1 mile or so.  So it took about 30 minutes out of the evening, and not that 30 minutes is a long time but when you’re busy with schoolwork, work-work, and barely able to squeeze in yoga/stretching/much-needed foam rolling, it takes a toll.  So, yes the run streak is officially over.

Welcome back into my life downward dog, I've missed you.

Welcome back into my life downward dog, I’ve missed you.

{Source}

Oh, and my plan to keep off the holiday weight gain?  It’s working, but I was hoping to lose some weight int he process as well.  I’m holding steady at 148-149 lbs, but I really want to lose these last 10 pounds.  I chatted with a physician I work with (who also runs) and she recommended just simply eating clean, no calorie counting, and no more daily weights–because that in itself is frustrating.  “Just eat until you feel satisfied, and as clean as you can” were her words.  So naturally, on my lunch break I did a google search for clean eating, and found awesome websites, www.cleaneatingmag.com and www.heandsheeatclean.com.  Both websites are very informative, and it sounds like a diet way of life I can get into.  I ran the info by T, and he is game.  We’re going to start seriously meal planning anyway to get our food budget under control, so what a great time to start a new way of eating.  There are so many recipes out there that are already “clean” and it’s so simple to make little substitutions to make a recipe clean.

IMG_0347[1]

I don’t want to make this post super-long, so I’ll be posting about last weekend in another post….a race report, a Christmas tree, and a boat parade!

Leave a Reply

