Cleaning Up and Prepping for 2013

Happy New Year’s Eve!  2012 has been a great year, and I’m looking forward to what 2013 brings.  I’m enjoying my early day off from work by blogging about the past few days, prepping dinner, and enjoying some tasty wine.

IMG_0712[1]

On Saturday, we had planned to go ice skating in Richmond, however, it was raining for most of the day so we just did some shopping instead.  We went to REI, and luckily they were having their used gear sale!  Yes, used gear, from clothes to kayaks to sleeping bags they sell gear that is in pretty good shape.  I scored, and when I say scored, I mean scored, a sweet pair of casual Merrell minimalist sneakers for $12.00.  Maybe worn once, but the were my size and actually just what I was looking for for my trip to Seattle in a couple of months.  Comfy walk-around shoes.  T found a sweet deal as well–barely worn Vibram Five Fingers Spyridons–he was actually planning on buying these and they retail for about $120.  He got them for $17.00! Talk about a bargain!  I also got some sweet new trail running shoes from Salomon.  Also on sale.

IMG_0690[1]

IMG_0691[1]

Check out that traction!

Check out that traction!

Afterward, we went to Whole Foods to pick up a pork roast and duck T had ordered for New Years Eve and New Years day dinners…and some yummy cheese.

Prepping the pork for tomorrow night's dinner--a very spicy rub--check out how red my hands are!

Prepping the pork for tomorrow night’s dinner–a very spicy rub–check out how red my hands are!

 

This past weekend T and I also took care of a few chores….like getting the apartment back together and giving it a thorough cleaning after taking the Christmas tree down and honestly not doing much of anything except vacuuming for the past month (in an apartment with 2 dogs, vacuuming at least once a week is a must!)  It is going to be so nice going into the new year with a nice clean home.

 

IMG_0695[1]

Before–lot’s of junk…

IMG_0700[1]

After, a happy pooch with a room to place soccer with his little blue ball.

After cleaning, we went out to finish NYE/D shopping–and ended up buying a small portable gas grill.  I love grilled food, and I love that we now have a way to grill that doesn’t involve a pain-in-the-ass-to-clean grill pan on the stovetop!

I also picked up some honey roasted peanuts from TJ’s to make homemade peanut butter to go with my apples at work (for a wonderful snack).

It’s simple:

Step One: Buy Peanuts

Step One: Buy Peanuts

Step Two: Open bag and pour into food processor

Step Two: Open bag and pour into food processor

 

Step Three:  Press start and process to desired consistency (about 3-4 minutes)

Step Three: Press start and process to desired consistency (about 3-4 minutes)

Step Five:  Once at desired consistency, put in a storage container, and store in refrigerator for up to 3 weeks

Step Five: Once at desired consistency, put in a storage container, and store in refrigerator for up to 3 weeks

And finally....ENJOY!

And finally….ENJOY!

 

Well I’m going to log off for 2012….Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

