Duck Prosciutto Pizza

Yesterday T and I did a hilly 10-miler through Williamsburg and it was a tough run.  The scheduled run was 9 miles, but since we did that easily last week in DC, we went for 10 miles this week for our long run.  I so wanted to call it quits at 9, but I pushed through it and did the full 10.  My entire body hurt, not sure if it was from lifting and swimming the day before or running mainly on concrete and brick sidewalks during the run itself, but man, I hurt.  Once we finished we headed home for some lunch and homework time.

Then for dinner, as a treat for long run day, this happened:

Duck Prosciutto Pizza

Duck Prosciutto Pizza

 

On the way back from DC, T and I stopped to get deli sandwiches to bring back to my mom’s house for lunch.  He spotted some duck prosciutto and just had to have it-not knowing what we would make with it.  I ended up doing a search for recipes that included the duck and found this pizza recipe here.  If you ever have a chance to make it, I (and T) would highly recommend!  The fat on the prosciutto made the flavor extra rich, and honestly I could eat this pizza everyday.  That being said, I could eat almost any pizza everyday.  We still have some prosciutto left so this will also be our Friday night treat!

The crust and sauce were homemade (recipes courtesy of Tyler Florence) and the only variation from the original recipe was that we used spinach instead of arugula because it’s what we had on hand.

pretty colors

pretty colors

before

before

after

after

A lovely end to a busy homework and running filled weekend!

Bon appetit!

 

Leave a Reply

