Breakfast Burritos

Apparently everyone ran a race over the weekend, and everyone got some crazy PRs (thank you for the motivation!!)…
I, on the other hand cooked so much over the weekend I didn’t even get to blog about it. …Good thing I took pictures of all of the delicious homemade goodies.  The following is just one of the many things I made 🙂 Enjoy.T and I are always trying to save time during the week by prepping our weekly meals on the weekend.  And now that we’re becoming morning runners, the time between waking up and getting to work is precious.

Rise and Shine!

Rise and Shine!

Source

I love eating eggs and an English muffin in the morning, and yes, it’s quick to prepare, but you have to stand there and stir the eggs and spinach, and the be honest, it’s kind of a time suck when time is limited in the morning anyway.

Enter:  Homemade Frozen Breakfast Burritos (found via internet search).  What’s better than having all of the goodness of a homemade sit-down-I- have-all-the-time-in-the-world-breakfast wrapped up in a yummy whole wheat tortilla that cooks in the microwave in 3 minutes?  In my breakfast-loving opinion? Nothing!

I pretty much followed the recipe as written, with a few minor adjustments:  I only made 9 burritos, however I think my tortillas were too big.  And I definitely did not need 3 cups of cheese, maybe 1.5 cups max.  For the veggies I used onions and spinach (what I had on hand).  And I didn’t add the salsa to the burrito, I used it as a dipping sauce instead.

Burrito makin' sation

Burrito makin’ sation

The first one...a bit overstuffed but I corrected the stuffing with the following 8

The first one…a bit overstuffed but I corrected the stuffing with the following 8

I prepped the filling as directed, and set up my burrito station on the dining room table and stuffed and rolled away!  I got 9 meal sized burritos, packaged them up and put them in the freezer.

IMG_1136[1]

And the results….

IMG_1137[1]

Delicious and filling!
With my typical breakfast of either eggs (as described above) or a Trader Joe’s Complete Oatmeal packet, I am ravenous by 9:30am, but I held off on my snack until about 10:30am today, and I wasn’t starving.  Success!
Is it higher in calories?  Yes, but that’s the best part about being an endurance athlete (and actually doing the training I should be doing), you get to eat!
Stay tuned for a Quinoa and Roasted Veggie dinner recipe and a homemade roasted red pepper hummus recipe!
Leave a Reply

