Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

For a mid-day snack, I usually take carrots and homemade peanut butter, but this week I wanted to try something different: hummus and celery.  Hummus is the only thing that makes me eat celery, and since it’s nutritious, I’ll take it.  I usually like the brand Sabra, but since I’ve been making my own peanut butter, why not try a hummus recipe?

IMG_1119[1]

I used Ina Garten’s hummus recipe and made just a few changes, which are noted below.

Ingredients:

4 garlic cloves
2 cups canned chickpeas, drained, liquid reserved
1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt  1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/3 cup tahini (sesame paste)
6 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice (2 lemons) only had lemon juice on hand, turned out just fine
2 tablespoons water or liquid from the chickpeas
8 dashes hot sauce  one roasted red pepper (I used already prepared peppers we had on hand)

Directions:
Turn on the food processor fitted with the steel blade and drop the garlic down the feed tube; process until it’s minced. Add the rest of the ingredients to the food processor and process until the hummus is coarsely pureed. Taste, for seasoning, and serve chilled or at room temperature.

Pictured below are the ridiculously easy steps.

Ready...

Ready…

Set...

Set…

Go!

Go!

Homemade hummus!

Homemade hummus!

And there you have it, homemade hummus in a matter of seconds.  And the taste?  Let’s just say I prefer homemade now.

Snacktime at work this morning.

Snacktime at work.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

