Spaghetti Squash

I never thought I would find a decent replacement for pasta….enter: Spaghetti Squash.  I had it for the first time on Friday night and again tonight for dinner.

It’s super easy to prepare too, the most difficult thing about it is cutting the damn thing open!

IMG_1428

Start with a whole squash, I think this is considered a small-medium sized squash, and it served two (large servings).

IMG_1429

Cut it open, we had to use a cleaver, and by we I mean T.

IMG_1430

Scoop out the inside–kinda like scooping out a pumpkin, and drizzle with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Let it soak in for a few minutes.

IMG_1431

Line a pan with foil, place squash pieces upside down, and roast at 400 degrees for 40 minutes.

IMG_1435

After it’s finished roasting let it cool for a few minutes.

IMG_1436

Then take a fork and scoop out the “spaghetti”!

We topped our squash with a homemade sauce that T came up with–shredded carrots, onions, celery, a can of crushed tomatoes, fresh sage and rosemary (from my garden!!), and splash of the wine (red) we were drinking on Friday night.  It makes enough for several servings, and freezes well.  As for the amounts of the ingredients, just do what you think looks good.

IMG_1432

IMG_1433

IMG_1434

Top the squash with the sauce and a little pit of parmesan cheese and enjoy!

I love sauce...

I love sauce…

I found the spaghetti sauce to be filling but not overly-filling like I feel after eating pasta.  T and I both enjoyed this very much and see many meals with spaghetti squash in our future!

 

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash

    • I know I’m so disappointed I couldn’t stick with it! I need to manage my time better—with marathon study-fests for finals and working full time I can’t even manage to fit in my own workouts!

Leave a Reply

