Race Report: Delaware Half Marathon

I’ve been waiting for race pictures to be posted, however there has been some technical difficulties in the media department…so here’s the race report (it’s a short one, I don’t really have much to say about this race):

The Delaware Marathon and Half Marathon was on 5/12/13.

IMG_0032

IMG_0035

We headed up to Wilmington on Saturday morning and hit the expo.  It was at Tubman Garrett Riverfront Park in a large event tent.  It wasn’t much of an expo, but it was also a small race (the half marathon field was only 1,000 runners).  We were in and out in about 5 minutes and headed to the hotel.
Not that I’m bad-mouthing Wilmington or Delaware, but there wasn’t much to do.  It reminded both T and I of Virginia Beach….minus the beach.  Not sure how to describe the city.  Behind our hotel there was a nature park/bike trail, so to loosen our legs after sitting in the car all morning we took a walk and I made a new friend 🙂

IMG_0036

IMG_0087

IMG_0040
Then we went to a nearby mall.  Again, not much to do, so we headed back to the hotel around 4pm, watched Food Network, read some magazines, and had some pasta.
We planned on waking up around 4:30p in order to get to the parking area early enough to find parking (we’re used to lack of parking due to a ton of runners).  We got there around 5:45a and we were the 5th car in the lot.  So T napped, and I played on my iPad.

IMG_0276
The marathoners took off first around 7a, and the half started around 7:20a.
And we were off!
We stuck to a 10:30-ish pace for most of the first half of the race.  I wasn’t trying to go out fast, neither was T.  This was a training run.  I was definitely deconditioned, but running felt good this time.  I planned on breaking the race into 4-mile increments, then having the 1.1 left over,  The first four miles were along the riverfront, and T and I just chit-chatted away about next year’s spring break vacation…to be determined as of right now (west coast, please).  They passed rather quickly.

Around mile 6, my left IT band was starting to get sore, but I kept running and running…and running.  Around mile 8, we ran through this beautiful neighborhood of old and new mansions…I think it was the Brandywine area of Wilmington.  The rest of the race was pretty uneventful.  Like I said we treated it as a training run for the marathon in October.

IMG_0285

IMG_0281

We finished back on the riverfront in about 2 hours 15 minutes, skipped the post race festivities and headed back to Yorktown.  It was a well-organized small race, but I don’t think I would do it again.  Definitely a good first time half for locals (like within 1-2 hours max of the race venue–we were 10 hours round-trip).

Next up: Virginia Wine Country Half Marathon!

Leave a Reply

