Weekly Workouts {6/17-6/23}

Week 3 of MDI marathon training is in the books!  Had a set back at the end of the week, but I learned from it, and now I’m ready to get on to week 4 🙂

Monday:

“Rest” day.

AM:  Abs dvd (the same as last week) and a 10-minute arms workout. Holy crap, my triceps/biceps felt the burn!

PM:  Abs dvd—I know I’m overworking, but it feels so good!

Tuesday:

AM: a sweaty 3 mile run.

Wednesday:

AM: Abs dvd, arms/shoulders workout.

PM:  Holy hill training.  It was a nice night, so we opted for some outdoor strength training/extra running over the gym.

hill training at sunset. love.

hill training at sunset. love.

can't tell from the picture, but it's a pretty big hill to do sprints up

can’t tell from the picture, but it’s a pretty big hill to do sprints up

The workout:

10 minute warmup

Sprint x5 uphill, jog downhill

Cooldown 5 minute jog/walk

unfortunately, hills are very rare here in southeastern Virginia, but the Yorktown waterfront has some pretty steep ones.  We waited until after rush-hour, then headed down.  The picture doesn’t give do the steepness of the hill justice, you’ll just have to trust me on this one, but it was a 0.1 mile beast.  The first three uphills were challenging but good, the final two were just torture.  Excited for this workout in the future.

Total mileage:  2.4 miles.

Thursday: skipped the early morning run in favor of sleep and study time since I had a test that night.  I did do an abs workout though.

Friday:  see this post as to why I missed this workout.

Saturday: a brick!  12 miles on the bike, followed by 1 mile run.  Felt pretty good for the late morning in the scorching sun.  So now I have a goal for my tri in August (it’s a 12 mile bike ride).  I would like to shave at least 5 minutes off my time.  T think’s more is possible especially if I get over my fear of going fast downhill.  We’ll see!

Yorktown Battlefield

Yorktown Battlefield

me and my ride

me and my ride

12 mile bike ride

12 mile bike ride

1 mile run post bike ride....felt like I was going to slow but ended up with a sweet pace

1 mile run post bike ride….felt like I was going to slow but ended up with a sweet pace

Sunday: a failed 6-miler, only did 3 miles.  Recouped most of the day today, and now I feel back to normal.

Happy training!

Leave a Reply

