Lately

Good morning and happy Monday friends!

It sure has been hot over the past couple of weeks!  Just look at weather puppy’s forecast for last Wednesday:

stay cool, pooch

stay cool, pooch

It’s been a week since my last post and it’s been quite eventful!  Here’s what I’ve been up to lately:

1. First and foremost, I finished my first pre-calculus class–and passed!  I’m glad it’s over, now I get almost a full month of no classes.

2.  Today is my first {unofficial} day of working part time.  I had originally started the labor pool job in late May with the intention of only working 3-4 days per week, then I signed up for full time hours for the past 2 months.  Oops.  No more full work weeks from here on out 🙂

3.  I’ve become addicted to Marathon Training Academy podcasts.

these folks kept me company on my long commutes home on the parkway from Williamsburg for the past two weeks

these folks kept me company on my long commutes home on the parkway from Williamsburg for the past two weeks

4.  Two weekends ago, T and I went to the South of the James Farmers’ Market in Richmond.  It deserves it’s own post, which is coming up this week.

IMG_0536

5.  I’m signed up for the RRCA Coaching Certification in September.  It was so cool, the night before I got the email about a local course, I was telling T how much I would jump on the chance to sign up if there was a course in Virginia Beach or Richmond, I got one better—-it’s in September in Newport News (at my old gym to boot!).

IMG_0596

6.  This past Saturday, I had my best training run of MDIM training.  A sweet 10 miles at 5:30am to beat the heat.  The only bad part was that I got some mean chafage from the Camelbak pack I wore.  Better to learn on a training run than during the race!

early morning running gear

early morning running gear, and looking super tired on Saturday morning 

the hydration pack I'll never be wearing again (it's T's)

the hydration pack I’ll never be wearing again (it’s T’s)

IMG_0600

7.  Also on Saturday, T and I enjoyed a night out a the ballpark in Richmond at a minor league baseball game.  Birthday cake ice cream in a hat was the treat of the day!

ice cream in a SF Giants hat

ice cream in a SF Giants hat

nice day for a ball game

nice day for a ball game

fireworks after the game

fireworks after the game

8.  Yesterday we tried Taste Unlimited in Newport News.  It’s a local chain, with this location being the only one north of the tunnel (meaning the rest are in Virginia Beach/Norfolk).  It had a nice selection of local foods, and a surprisingly good selection of wine.  We stocked up on some Oregon wines (sorry folks, not a big Virginia wine fan here), and got lunch.

IMG_0638

IMG_0636

IMG_0635

9.  And finally, I’m moving to wordpress.org with a whole new blog!  It’s a work in progress, but hopefully it’ll be up in a couple weeks.  It’s like a little happy (almost) one year birthday gift to my blog 🙂

Have a good Monday!

One thought on “Lately

Leave a Reply

